Brandeis Athletics Hall of Fame Induction set for April 13


WALTHAM, Mass. - On Sunday, April 13, Brandeis University Department of Athletics and the Friends of Brandeis Athletics (FOBA) will induct its 12th class into the Brandeis Athletic Hall of Fame.


      Bobby Bernstein, a Newton, Mass., native, is a member of the class of 1985. He is one of the top men's tennis players in school history. Bernstein earned back-to-back New England singles championships as a junior and senior, adding a doubles title as a senior, and went the NCAA championships three times in his career, twice in singles and once in doubles. At the time of his graduation, Bernstein owned the Judges' career record with 55 singles victories.

      A two-time team captain, Bernstein is now the Administrator of Junior and Collegiate Programs for the United States Tennis Association. He now resides in Boca Raton, Fla.


      Terrence Gargiulo, a Monterey, Calif., native, is a member of the class of 1990. He is one of the most decorated men's foil fencers in Brandeis history. Gargiulo qualified for four straight NCAA championships, fencing against Division I competition. He earned All-America honors as a junior. In addition, Gargiulo won individual championship at the University Athletic Association, Intercollegiate Fencing Association and the New England Fencing Conference during his career. He was named Brandeis's Male Athlete of the Year as a senior. After graduating, Gargiulo went on to compete in four U.S. Olympic Festivals and spent seven years ranked among the top 16 foil fencers in America.

      After earning his Master's of Management in Human Services from Brandeis, Gargiulo is an organizational development consultant who has published eight books. Gargiulo still resides in Monterey.


      Hannah (Johnson) Bornstein, a Greenwood, Ind., native, is a member of the class of 2002 and will be the youngest member of the Hall of Fame. She is regarded as the top diver in Brandeis women's swimming and diving history. Bornstein holds every major women's diving record and is a three-time All-American, once in the one-meter event and twice in the three-meters. She also earned a University Athletic Association championship during her senior campaign. Bornstein was named Brandeis's Charlie Napoli Scholar Athlete as a senior and was the co-chair of Brandeis's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

      Now working as an associate at the law firm of Ropes and Gray, LLP, Bornstein resides in Boston, Mass.


      Hubie LeBlanc, a Waltham, Mass., native, is a member of the class of 1958. LeBlanc is being inducted as a contributor, having spent 11 years as an assistant coach of the basketball and baseball teams. He was also the interim head basketball coach for two seasons. LeBlanc coached four All-Americans in his time at Brandeis and played with or coached no fewer than 13 inductees into the Brandeis Hall of Fame. As a four-year player on the basketball team, LeBlanc was a member and captain of the 1957-58 squad that was Brandeis's first-ever NCAA Tournament participant. LeBlanc now resides in West Newton, Mass.


      Michael Lichtenstein, native of Herzliah, Israel, is a member of the class of 1979. A four-year starter on the men's soccer team as a walk-on, Lichtenstein is currently ranked seventh on the Judges' all-time scoring list with 33 goals and 20 assists for 86 points. He was a four-time Greater Boston League All-Star and two-time All-New England selection. As a junior in 1977, Lichtenstein led the Judges in scoring as the squad won Brandeis's first-ever Division III national championship. He scored a key hat trick against WPI in the regional finals of the tournament, including the game-winner in overtime, sending Brandeis to the Final Four.

      An attorney with the law firm of Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A., in Rockville, Md., Lichtenstein now resides in Bethesda, Md.


      Fred Marden, a Framingham, Mass., native, is a member of the class of 1965. He was one of the top pitchers in the early years of the Brandeis program. Marden was a three-time Greater Boston League All-Star, earning Most Valuable Player honors as a senior. More than 40 years after his graduation, Marden still holds Brandeis's single-season and career strikeout records, with 112 and 265, respectively. He once struck out 26 batters in a 12-inning game, including 20 in the first nine innings. Marden was selected by the Boston Red Sox in the fourth round of the Major League Baseball draft.

      Retired from the Bank of Boston, Marden is now a realtor and still resides in Framingham.



      Myron "Mike" Uhlberg, a Brooklyn, N.Y., native, is a member of the class of 1955. A member of Brandeis's first football team in 1951, he was one of the outstanding defensive members of the team. Uhlberg was a four-year starter at defensive back and also started at fullback in his senior season. He earned the Joseph M. Linsey Trophy for Outstanding Backfield Man of the Year in 1954. According to teammates, "his defensive prowess and tackling ability caused teams to avoid his side of the field entirely." He has previously been honored by FOBA with the Sid Goldfader Award of Valor in 2005. Uhlberg also helped organize numerous outlets of recognition for his coach, Benny Friedman, culminating in Friedman's election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004. 

      Uhlberg is the award-winning author of five children's books, while his memoir Hands of My Father, about a hearing boy raised by deaf parents in Depression-era Brooklyn, will be published in 2009. Retired from the men's fashion clothing industry since 1995, Uhlberg now resides in Santa Monica, Calif.


      The 1983 men's cross country team won the University's second-ever NCAA Division III national championship. Coached by Brandeis Hall of Famer Norm Levine and featuring two other Hall of Famers in Ed McCarthy '84 and Mark Beeman '85, the squad tied an NCAA record with five All-Americans. The Judges, who had finished second in the nation in the two previous seasons, also won their 13th straight New England Division III championship with a meet-record low 26 points.

      The members who will be inducted as part of the 1983 men's cross country team were: John Agnello '84, Mark Beeman '85, Shawn Bennett '87, Rob Bowles '87, Steve Burbridge '85, Mike Busnach '87, Scott Carlin '84, Joel Chariton '84, Adam Chesler '84, John Courtney '85, Kevin Curtin '84, Aaron Finkel '85, Misa Fossas '85, George Fulk '87, Eric Gamage '87, Dave Kelts '86,  Dave Langdon '87, Brian Levine '87,Rob Littman '87, Andy Maslow '84, Ed McCarthy '84, Jim Merod, Jr. '86, Keith Realander '87, Mike Salvon '86 and Josh Spero '85.


      The 2008 Brandeis Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held Sunday, April 13 at 11 a.m. at the Westin Hotel in Waltham. Tickets are still available.