Brandeis to host 2016 NCAA National Collegiate Fencing Championships

Brandeis to host 2016 NCAA National Collegiate Fencing Championships

WALTHAM, Mass. – Brandeis University and Waltham will host the 2016 NCAA National Collegiate Fencing Championships in 2016, the NCAA announced today.

This will mark the fourth time that Brandeis has hosted the NCAA National Collegiate Fencing championships, which features teams from NCAA Division I, II and III. The Gosman Sports and Convocation Center has previously served as host in 1994, 1999 and 2004. The Judges have produced All-Americans in two of those three years, and had the best team placement in school history in 1999, when they finished 12th.

"We are thrilled to host the NCAA National Collegiate Fencing championships for the fourth time," said Brandeis Director of Athletics Sheryl Sousa '90. "It's a tremendous event that features world-class fencers. Our campus and staff look forward to welcoming them to Brandeis and to Waltham."

The announcement was made as one of a record 524 future NCAA Championship sites released today, including Notre Dame and Penn State as the 2017 and 2018 Fencing Championship hosts.

"We really want to thank everyone who put in a bid," said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. "The competitiveness of the bids made it extremely difficult for the sport committees to select sites as there just weren't spots for all of the great bids we received. Ultimately the sites that were selected will provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible."

The new NCAA championship bid process creates the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.

Bidding for 82 of 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championship event sites awarded. The seven championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I men's basketball, Division I football, Division I men's and women's golf, Division I softball and Division III women's ice hockey.

For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to