Northeast Fencing Conference honors three from Brandeis men's fencing

Ian Quin, NFC Rookie of the Year; Bill Shipman, NFC Coaching Staff of the Year; and Kyle Berney 2nd team All-NFC

WALTHAM, Mass. — The Northeast Fencing Conference (NFC) has announced its postseason selections and the Brandeis University Judges are well represented.

Head coach Bill Shipman and his staff, including assistants Arpad Horvath and Shuang Meng and armorer Al Merritt were named the men's coaching staff of the year. It is the fourth year in a row that Shipman was honored and the second in a row that the NFC recognized a Coaching Staff of the Year. Shipman and his staff guided the Brandeis men to an undefeated NFC season, going 10-0 to win the team title. The Judges earned three narrow victories to claim the NFC title, including a 14-13 win over Brown and 15-12 wins over runners-up Boston College and over Vassar College. The Brandeis women went 9-3 in NFC action and placed fourth. Brandeis was second to BC in the combined standings.

The Judges' foil squads produced both Rookies of the Year, with Jessica Gets of Morganville, N.J., earning the honor for the women and Ian Quin of Ramsey N.J., taking home honors for the men. Gets went 29-3 overall in NFC action, while Quin was 17-3. Both earned first-team All-NFC honors as well.

Four Brandeis fencers were selected to the All-NFC second team. For the women, sophomore Joanne Carminucci of Brewster, N.Y., was a second-team honoree in foil for the second year in a row, posting a 28-5 record. With Carminucci and Gets, the Brandeis women's foil squad was the only women's squad with two All-NFC representatives.

Junior Liz Feller of Cortlandt Manor, N.Y., was a second-team selection in epee after earning first-team honors in 2015. She was 29-7 this season in NFC action.

Senior sabre fencer Nina Sayles of Mamaroneck, N.Y., was a second-team selection, earning All-NFC honors for the first time since 2014, after going 20-6.

For the men, junior Kyle Berney of Shreveport, La., was a second-team selection in sabre for the third year running. He went 16-4 for the Judges.