Depth carries DI Bryant past men's tennis, 10-5

Michael Secular '15 (right) along with doubles partner Ben Fine '15
Michael Secular '15 (right) along with doubles partner Ben Fine '15

WALTHAM, Mass. -- The Brandeis men's tennis team faced off against Division I Bryant University today under unusual scoring rules. With the entire roster of each team playing matches that contributed to the final score, the Bulldogs used superior depth at the bottom of the lineup to take a 10-5 victory. Had the match been scored under traditional rules, with the top six singles and top three doubles matches counting, Brandeis would have upset Bryant, 5-4.

A trio of rookies were responsible for three of Brandeis's five points. The No. 2 doubles team of Alec Siegel (Deerfield, Ill./Deerfield) and Michael Secular (Bronx, N.Y./Plant, Fla.) captured an 8-4 win. In singles action, Secular provided a win at No. 4, 6-3, 6-0, while Ben Fine (Providence, R.I./Moses Brown School) earned a 7-6, 6-3, victory at No. 6.

In addition to Secular, Brandeis had one other multiple winner in junior Josh Jordan (Northboro, Mass./Algonquin Regional). Jordan teamed with classmate Steven Milo (Woodbury, N.Y./Syosset) for an 8-4 at the top doubles spot, then earned a 6-2, 6-4 win at No 1 singles. For Milo, it was his second match back from injury.

In the matches featuring Brandeis players no typically featured in the lineups, there were a couple of close calls. In doubles action, sophomores Evan Berner (McLean, Va./Langley) and Matthew Zuckerman (Valley Stream, N.Y./George W. Hewlett) suffered a 9-7 defeat at No. 4. Zuckerman dropped a 7-5, 6-3 loss at No. 8, while junior Jon Ostrowsky (Newton, Mass./Newton South) dropped a tiebreaker in the first set at No. 9 in bowing, 7-6 (7-1), 6-0.

Bryant University 10, Brandeis 5
Apr 20, 2012 at Waltham, Mass. (Rieger Tennis Courts) 

Singles competition
1. Josh Jordan (BRMTEN) def. Zachary Morris (BRY) 6-2, 6-4
2. Dana Parziale (BRY) def. Dave Yovanoff (BRMTEN) 6-3, 7-5
3. Ernesto Arguello (BRY) def. Alec Siegel (BRMTEN) 7-6 (7-3), 6-1
4. Michael Secular (BRMTEN) def. Juan Gonzalez-Paz (BRY) 6-3, 6-0
5. Vidith Huot (BRY) def. Adam Brown (BRMTEN) 6-1, 3-6, 6-4
6. Ben Fine (BRMTEN) def. Joshua Rubinstein (BRY) 7-6, 6-3
7. Connor Crowley (BRY) def. Michael DeFeo (BRMTEN) 6-3, 6-3
8. Daniel Cournoyer (BRY) def. Matthew Zuckerman (BRMTEN) 7-5, 6-3
9. Andres Orobitg (BRY) def. Jon Ostrowsky (BRMTEN) 7-6 (7-1), 6-0
10. Buddy McQuade (BRY) def. Evan Berner (BRMTEN) 6-3, 6-4


Doubles competition
1. Josh Jordan/Steven Milo (BRMTEN) def. Ernesto Arguello/Juan Gonzalez-Paz (BRY) 8-4
2. Michael Secular/Alec Siegel (BRMTEN) def. Vidith Huot/Joshua Rubinstein (BRY) 8-4
3. Zachary Morris/Richard Sipala (BRY) def. Ben Fine/David Yovanoff (BRMTEN) 8-5
4. Daniel Cournoyer/Connor Crowley (BRY) def. Evan Berner/Matthew Zuckerman (BRMTEN) 9-7
5. Buddy McQuade/Andres Orobitg (BRY) def. Adam Brown/Michael DeFeo (BRMTEN) 8-5