Brandeis announces 2009 Hall of Fame class

WALTHAM, Mass. - The Brandeis University Department of Athletics and the Friends of Brandeis Athletics (FOBA) are proud to announce the members of the Class of 2009 to the Brandeis Athletics Hall of Fame.

Legendary tennis figure Arthur "Bud" Collins is being inducted in the contributor category. The respected tennis journalist and International Tennis Hall of Fame member served as Brandeis's first tennis coach from 1959 to 1963.

Theresa Ceriello (Class of 2003) will be Brandeis's first selection from the women's volleyball team. She was a four-time All-University Athletic Association selection and the program's first-ever American Volleyball Coaches Association First-Team All-New England selection, guiding the Judges to three ECAC tournament appearances.

Kevin Curtin (Class of 1984) helped the Brandeis men's cross cross-country team to three-straight finishes in the top two in the nation, including a national championship in 1983. A captain of three New England championship teams as a senior, earned All-America honors in cross country that season while winning the New England Division III championship in the 1,000-meter run, establishing a meet record that still stands.

Marc Eisenstock (Class of 1972) was a member of the Brandeis baseball and basketball teams in the late 1960s and early 1970s. He played all nine positions on the diamond and was a .300 career hitter - and played all three positions on the hardwood during his career. Eisenstock went on to become a president of FOBA and was instrumental in the formation of the Hall of Fame in 1993.

Ginny (Lypscon) Richburg (Class of 1981) was the first woman in Brandeis history to qualify for the NCAA track and field championships, earning a berth in 1981 in the heptathlon. She earned several Greater Boston and New England championships throughout her career in both the heptathlon and the pentathlon and was recognized as Brandeis's top female athlete in 1979.


Tim Morehouse (Class of 2000) is Brandeis's first Olympian and first Olympic medalist, having helped the men's saber squad earn silver in Beijing in 2008. As a collegian, Morehouse was a three-time All-American in the saber who was named NCAA Saber Fencer of the Year as a senior. He has been ranked as high as fourth in the world in his post-collegiate career.

Michael Novaria (Class of 1991) is the third all-time leading scorer in Brandeis men's soccer history. He was a three-time All-New England and four-time All-University Athletic Association selection, earning UAA Player of the Year honors as a sophomore, one of only two Brandeis players ever to earn that honor.

Donald Soffer (Class of 1954) was one of the top linemen in Brandeis football history, standing out particularly at guard, earning a berth on early sports information director Cliff Sundberg's "Dream Team." Soffer has been described by teammates as a "fearless and extremely hard-hitting football player" who "never missed a practice or game in his four years."

The 2009 Brandeis Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held Sunday, November 1 at 11 a.m. at the Westin Hotel in Waltham.