Brandeis announces 2010 Departmental Award winners

Brandeis announces 2010 Departmental Award winners

WALTHAM, Mass. — On Thursday, May 6, the Brandeis University Department of Athletics handed out its annual end-of-season awards. The following senior student-athletes were all recognized at the department's awards dinner.


Five Athletic Director's Awards were presented to student-athletes who have displayed general excellence in representing Brandeis Athletics. They went to:


Suzanne Bernier of Hanson, Mass., captain of the track and field team, who set school-records in the high jump both indoors and outdoors in 2010, won two University Athletic Association titles in the event in her career and has qualified for two NCAA Division III championships;







Lee Bloom of West Hartford, Conn., captain of the golf team, who is one of the best golfers in school history, graduating with one All-UAA honor, five top-five finishes, including two tournament titles, and the school-records for low single round (70) and two-round tournament (149);






Jesse Hershman of Hamden, Conn., captain of the men's swimming and diving team, who owned a 3.73 grade-point average, two all-time Top 10 performances in school history, and was an active representative of the department on campus in his role as campus tour guide, alumni relations student-worker and as a recruiter for the team;




Emily Vaillette of Milford, N.H., a pitcher the softball team, who has led the team to two ECAC Division III tournaments in 2008 and 2009, including the 2008 title, and 2010's NCAA tournament berth, the program's first, while setting school records for lowest earned-run average in a season (1.49) and career (2.28) and standing second in career wins (38) headed into the tournament;




And Hollis Viray of Glastonbury, Conn., captain of the women's swimming and diving team, who was a three-time Academic All-UAA selection and two-time College Swim Coaches Association of America All-Academic Honorable Mention while holding seven school records, 11 All-Time top 10 performances and having twice qualified for the NCAA championships in her career.




The Morris Sepinuck Award, presented to the varsity athlete who not only displays outstanding sportsmanship but also makes a significant contribution to the athletic program and to campus life at Brandeis, went to Carmela Breslin of McKees Rocks, Pa. A four-year member of the women's basketball team who went to three NCAA tournaments in her career, Breslin graduated as the Judges' career leader in 3-point percentage (42 percent). She was served as the secretary of Brandeis's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and the SAAC's acting president in 2010, was the department's public address announced for volleyball, was an intramural supervisor and a committee chair for Brandeis's Relay For Life in its first three years of existence.

The Morry Stein Award of Valor, presented to a student-athlete who has demonstrated courage both on and off the playing fields and/or intervened to better the lives of others, went to John O'Brion of Portland, Maine. O'Brion, a captain of the baseball team, was an All-UAA selection at second base as a junior, when he finished third in the league in slugging. After off-season hip surgery, he hit .284 in 2010, fifth on the team, with 17 RBI, fourth on the squad despite playing in severe pain. He also led all UAA second basemen with no errors in 95 chances.


The Charlie Napoli '58 Scholar-Athlete Award, presented to an outstanding student athlete who has excelled in the classroom and on the athletic field, went to Beth Pisarik of Chelmsford, Mass., a two-time of the women's cross country and track and field teams. Pisarik, a double-major in biology and neuroscience with a 3.86 grade-point average, was on the Dean's List every semester at Brandeis and qualified for the Academic All-UAA team in all nine seasons she was eligible. She was a two-time All-UAA first-team member who has qualified for three NCAA championships, finishing ninth in the 1,500-meter run at the 2009 Outdoor Track and Field championships and earning her first All-America honor at the 2010 Indoor Championships when she ran the lead-off leg of the third-place distanced medley relay. Pisarik will attend Tufts Medical School next year, having been accepted to their program as a sophomore.

The Harry, Joseph and Ida Stein Award, presented to the outstanding male athlete, was given to Terrell Hollins of Springfield, Mass. Hollins, a two-time captain of the men's basketball team, was a part of the most successful senior class in Brandeis basketball history, winning 83 games, reaching four consecutive NCAA tournaments and two Elite Eight appearances in his career. Hollins was a three-time All-UAA selection at forward and earned All-New England honors from three different organizations this season. Hollins graduated as one of two players in school history with 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 200 assists and 100 steals in his career.

The Max I. Silber Award, presented to the outstanding female student-athlete, was given to Jessica Chapin of Mendon, N.Y. Chapin, a captain and guard on the women's basketball team, became the first woman in school history to earn first-team All-America honors from the Women's Basketball Coaches Association. She was named the University Athletic Association Player of the Year after leading the UAA in scoring, averaging 16.9 points per game and turning the fourth 400-point season in school history. Chapin finished her career as the only Brandeis women's basketball player to finish in the top 10 in her career in points(1,280, sixth), rebounds (521, eighth), assists (262, sixth) and steals (243, third).  

Bernier is a 2006 graduate of Whitman-Hanson High School. She is the daughter of Donald and Kathleen Bernier, Whitman, Mass.

Bloom is a 2006 graduate of Loomis Chaffee High School. He is the son of Ronald and Cheryl Bloom, West Hartford, Conn.

Hershman is a 2006 graduate of Hamden High School. He is the son of Michael and Lori Hershman, Hamden, Conn.

Viray is a 2006 graduate of Glastonbury High School. She is the daughter of Bret and Andrea Viray, Glastonbury, Conn.

Breslin is a 2006 graduate of Oakland Catholic High School. She is the daughter of James and Janet Breslin, McKees Rocks, Pa.

O’Brion is a 2006 graduate of Portland High School. He is the son of Martin and Debra O’Brion, Portland, Maine.

Pisarik is a 2006 graduate of Chelmsford High School. She is the daughter of Kristopher and Jennifer Pisarik, Chelmsford, Mass.

Hollins is a 2006 graduate of Longmeadow High School. He is the son of James and Karen Hollins, Springfield, Mass.

Chapin is a 2006 graduate of Honeoye Falls Lima Sr. High School. She is the daughter of Michael and Deborah Chapin, Mendon, N.Y.