Brandeis tennis places three on UAA 30th Anniversary team

Brandeis Tennis 30th Anniversary team

WALTHAM, Mass. – Throughout the course of the 2017-18 academic year, the University Athletic Association (UAA) will be releasing its 30th Anniversary teams, honoring the best student-athletes from the first 30 years of the Association. Brandeis tennis has had three alumni named to the anniversary team, which was released on Wednesday.

The team consists of each student-athlete who was named Most Valuable Player, won an NCAA Division III singles title, won an ITA (Intercollegiate Tennis Association) Division III Small College Championship singles title, or accumulated five or more points with two points awarded for All-Association first-team singles recognition, and one point for second-team singles honors in his career. Players who captured the top-flight singles title in years preceding the designation of a Most Valuable Player (1989-93) were also named to the team.

Brandeis's honorees were Hall of Famer Noel Occomy '89, the 1988 NCAA Champion and 1st flight champion in 1989; Sam Jonas '07, the men's Most Outstanding Player as a sophomore in 2005; and Minh Tran '94, the 1993 1st singles champion for the women.