Brandeis tennis squads earn All-Academic honors

Brandeis tennis squads earn All-Academic honors

WALTHAM, Mass. – The Brandeis University tennis teams have been honored by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) as ITA All-Academic Teams. The award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017). The Brandeis women compiled a team GPA of 3.52, while the men were at 3.48.

"I'm thrilled that so many of our student-athletes are being recognized for their hard work in and out of the classroom," said Director of Athletics Lynne Dempsey '93. "Representing Brandeis in athletics and doing well in school have never been mutually exclusive and these teams prove that year in and year out."

The Judges also had 14 men and women named to the as ITA Scholar-Athletes. To earn Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

The individuals honored were

Pedro Bobrow '20            Men's tennis

Jordan Brodie                    Men's Tennis

Jeffery Cherkin '17          Men's Tennis

Zachary Cihlar '19             Men's Tennis

Benjamin Wolfe '20        Men's Tennis

David Reinharz '18           Men's Tennis

Brian Granoff '17              Men's Tennis

Tyler Ng '19                        Men's Tennis

Ethan Saal '18                    Men's Tennis

William Wilson '19            Men's Tennis

Haley Cohen '18               Women's Tennis

Ariana Ishaq '19                                Women's Tennis

Keren Khromchenko '19               Women's Tennis

Michele Lehat '19            Women's Tennis